Accessibility links


Sign In

Royal Opera Chorus

The Royal Opera Chorus was created in 1946 for the re-opening of the Royal Opera House after World War II. Known then as the Covent Garden Opera Chorus, it first appeared during December the same year in Purcell's The Faery Queene, staged together with Sadler's Wells Ballet (now The Royal Ballet). Its first full-scale opera production was Carmen in January 1947.

Since then the chorus has been the backbone of The Royal Opera, performing in an average of 20 productions each season, in a wide repertory ranging from Baroque through to newly commissioned works. The chorus is frequently augmented by as many as 60 freelance singers when larger productions are mounted.

As most operas are performed in the original language (Italian, French, German, Russian, Czech) the chorus works closely with language coaches during the rehearsal period.

Due to the brevity of production runs (six or seven performances) the chorus will often be performing in two or three productions in the evenings while rehearsing one or two other productions during the day and also learning the music of several other operas, all at the same time.

Chorus Director
William Spaulding

Assistant Chorus Master
Genevieve Ellis

Chorus Manager
Naomi Lewis

Assistant to the Chorus Manager
Esther Kippax

Melissa Alder
Yvonne Barclay
Katy Batho
Tamsin Coombs
Marianne Cotterill
Kiera Lyness
Anne Osborne
Deborah Peake-Jones
Emily Rowley Jones
Eryl Royle
Emma Smith
Elizabeth Weisberg

Louise Armit
Amanda Baldwin
Amy Catt
Andrea Hazell
Elizabeth Key
Rebecca Lodge
Madeleine Mitchell
Dervla Ramsay
Cari Searle
Renata Skarelyte

Patrick Ashcroft
Simon Davies
Alan Duffield
George Freeburn
Neil Gillespie
Mark Guerin
Lee Hickenbottom
Timothy Langston
Andrew Macnair
John Mulroy
Andrew O’Connor
Luke Price
Nicholas Sharratt
Andrew H. Sinclair
Douglas Telfer

Thomas Barnard
Dominic Barrand
Donaldson Bell
John Bernays
Nigel Cliffe
Jonathan Coad
Jonathan Fisher
Oliver Gibbs
Christopher Lackner
John Morrissey
Paul Parfitt
Bryan Secombe
Olle Zetterström