Production photo of The Marriage of Figaro, The Royal Opera © 2019 ROH. Photograph by Mark Douet

The Marriage of Figaro

927 January 2022
The performance will last approximately 3 hours 35 minutes, including one 30 minute interval.
Main Stage
Opera and music

From the headlong rush of the overture, Mozart’s timeless comedy is a breathless journey through one very eventful day in the life of an 1830s château. Figaro and his bride Susanna conspire to foil the unwanted advances of Count Almaviva, while the Countess has her heart stolen by a cross-dressing pageboy. Mozart’s music unfolds with beautiful solos and ensembles to amplify the deep emotions behind the seemingly farcical surface.

Music Director of The Royal Opera Antonio Pappano brings his specialist perspective to Mozart’s effervescent score, sharing the baton with Christopher Willis. A young and predominantly Italian cast perform this revival of David McVicar’s sumptuous and hugely popular period staging.

Approximate running times
Acts I and II: 1 hour 40 minutes
Interval: 30 minutes
Acts III and IV: 1 hour 25 minutes
Sung in Italian with English surtitles

Position of Music Director Maestro Antonio Pappano generously supported by

Mrs Susan A. Olde OBE

Generous philanthropic support from

Julia and Hans Rausing and an anonymous donor



All is not well In Count Almaviva’s château. Servants Figaro and Susanna are about to be married, but the Count has designs on Susanna and plans of his own for her. The young page Cherubino has enthusiastically discovered love, which is putting his place in the household at risk, and Countess Almaviva longs for her husband to be close to her again.

Figaro, Susanna and the Countess plot to shame the Count and save Cherubino from being sent to join the army. But their plans don't run smoothly, particularly when the elderly Marcellina tries to force Figaro to marry her. An astonishing revelation prevents this happening, but will the Count still find a way to thwart the wedding and can the Countess win back her husband?


Conductor, fortepiano continuo: Christopher Willis

Figaro: Riccardo Fassi

Susanna: Giulia Semenzato

Count Almaviva: Germán E. Alcántara

Countess Almaviva: Federica Lombardi

Cherubino: Hanna Hipp

Don Basilio: Gregory Bonfatti

Marcellina: Monica Bacelli

Bartolo: Gianluca Buratto

Antonio: Jeremy White

Barbarina: Alexandra Lowe

Don Curzio: Alasdair Elliott

Chorus: Royal Opera Chorus

Concert Master: Sergey Levitin

Orchestra: Orchestra of the Royal Opera House



There is lift access and step-free routes to over 100 seats in the Stalls Circle, Balcony and Amphitheatre. There are 10 steps or fewer to seats in the Stalls Circle, Balcony, Amphitheatre and the Donald Gordon Grand Tier. Seats in the Orchestra stalls are accessible by 9 steps or more. There is an Assisted Hearing Facility, and we produce Audio Introductions for most Main Stage Events.

Book wheelchair spaces and accessible seating

Join our free Access Scheme to book accessible seating or wheelchair space options in our auditoria and event spaces. Email or telephone +44 (0)20 7304 4000 for pricing and availability information, to book tickets or to register. Find out more about Accessibility at the Royal Opera House



Help secure the future of ballet and opera.

Experience, enjoy, donate

Donate now