Matthew Ball and Mayara Magri in Christopher Wheeldon's Within the Golden Hour in Live from Covent Garden, 27 June 2020 ©2020 ROH. Photograph by Ruairi Watson

Live from Covent Garden – 27 June

27 June27 July 2020
Online only
Ballet and dance
Opera and music
Back to Live from Covent Garden

While our wonderful building is closed to the public, we are bringing you three very special performances streamed live from the Royal Opera House as part of our #OurHouseToYourHouse series.

Live from Covent Garden will celebrate ballet and opera in programmes of dance and music, curated by artistic directors of the Royal Opera House: Antonio Pappano, Music Director of The Royal Opera, Oliver Mears, Director of Opera, and Kevin O’Hare, Director of The Royal Ballet.

This is the third of a series of three live concerts, the first performances to happen at the Royal Opera House since we closed our doors on 17 March. You can watch the event – or share with a friend as a gift – for £4.99.

Programme for the performance*

  • J.S. Bach: Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV 1043:I Vivace II Largo ma non tanto – Vasko Vassilev and Sergey Levitin (violins), Patrick Milne (harpsichord)
  • G.F. Handel: ‘Where shall I fly?’ (Hercules) – Stephanie Wake-Edwards (Dejanira), Patrick Milne
  • G. Rossini: ‘Ah! mi perdo mi confondo’ (L’Italiana in Algeri) – Blaise Malaba (Mustafa) and Filipe Manu (Lindoro), Edmund Whitehead
  • F. Mendelssohn: Piano Trio in D minor, op.49, II Andante con moto tranquillo – Vasko Vassilev (violin), Christopher Vanderspar (cello), Antonio Pappano (piano)
  • G. Donizetti: ‘Una furtiva lagrima’ (L’elisir d’amore) – Filipe Manu (Nemorino), Patrick Milne and soloists of the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
  • A. Catalani:  ‘Ebben? Ne andrò lontana‘ from La Wally – Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha (Wally), Edmund Whitehead
  • R. Leoncavallo: ‘Sei proprio tu che hai scritto ciò?’ (La bohème) – Stephanie Wake-Edwards (Musetta) and Filipe Manu (Marcello), Patrick Milne
  • P. Sorazabal: ‘No puede ser’ (La tabernera del puerto) – Andrés Presno (Leandro), Antonio Pappano
  • G. Gershwin ‘Summertime’ (Porgy and Bess) – Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha (Bess), Antonio Pappano
  • G. Gershwin ‘Bess, you is my woman now’ (Porgy and Bess) – Blaise Malaba (Porgy) and Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha (Bess), Antonio Pappano
  • G. Verdi: Brindisi ‘Libiamo ne’ lieti calici’ (La traviata) – Filipe Manu (Alfredo) and Company, TBC Patrick Milne/Edmund Whitehead
  • Kenneth MacMillanConcerto, second movement pas de deux – Fumi Kaneko and Reece Clarke, Kate Shipway (Piano) and soloists of the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House. Composed by Dmitri Shostakovich. Published by Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Limited.
  • Christopher WheeldonWithin the Golden Hour pas de deux – Mayara Magri and Matthew Ball. Music by Ezio Bosso.

With warm thanks to

Joyce and Philip Kan

How to watch

This event will be streamed on our ROH streaming site, and you will need to create an account to buy access. Your existing Royal Opera House account information will not be valid here.

Create account and buy access.


You can find out more about how to access this event here. If you are experiencing further problems with accessing this event, please visit the Help Centre.


Help secure the future of ballet and opera.

Experience, enjoy, donate

Donate now