COVID-19: The Royal Opera House is currently closed to the public, with all performances cancelled until 19 April. We are contacting those who hold tickets for these cancelled performances.

Accessibility links


Sign In
  • Home
  • News
  • The Royal Ballet honoured at the National Dance Awards 2017

The Royal Ballet honoured at the National Dance Awards 2017

Winners include Francesca Hayward, Reece Clarke and Zenaida Yanowsky.

By Rose Slavin (Former Assistant Content Producer)

6 February 2017 at 4.00pm | 1 Comment

The winners of the National Dance Awards 2017 have been announced.

Principal of The Royal Ballet Francesca Hayward won the Grishko Award for Best Female Dancer, just two years after winning the Emerging Artist Award.

Fellow Principal Zenaida Yanowsky, who will retire at the end of this Season, collected the award for Outstanding Female Performance (Classical) for her performance in the title role of Will Tuckett's Elizabeth.

Scottish dancer Reece Clarke won the Emerging Artist Award – the third time in a row that the honour has been bestowed on a member of The Royal Ballet.

Another notable winner was Dame Beryl Grey, who was awarded the De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement. Grey entered Sadler’s Wells Ballet in 1941 when she was just 14 years old and remarkably danced the iconic role of Odette/Odile in Swan Lake just a year later.

The ceremony is held annually by The Critics' Circle and are the only awards chosen by a body of professional dance critics. Each award, with artwork designed by Deborah MacMillan, celebrate the range of talent in Britain’s thriving dance culture.

Full list of National Dance Awards winners and nominees:

Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer: 

Grishko Award For Best Female Dancer:

Stef Stefanou Award For Outstanding Company:

  • Bolshoi Ballet
  • English National Ballet
  • Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo
  • Northern Ballet
  • Scottish Ballet

Best Independent Company:

Best Classical Choreography:

  • Anabelle Lopez Ochoa (Broken Wings, English National Ballet)
  • Jean-Christophe Maillot (Taming Of The Shrew, Bolshoi Ballet)
  • Cathy Marston (Jane Eyre, Northern Ballet)
  • Will Tuckett (Elizabeth, The Royal Ballet)
  • Jonathan Watkins (1984, Northern Ballet)

Best Modern Choreography:

Emerging Artist Award:

  • Reece Clarke (First Artist, The Royal Ballet)
  • Julie Cunningham (Freelance Choreographer)
  • Tierney Heap (Soloist, The Royal Ballet)
  • Katja Khaniukova (Junior Soloist, English National Ballet)
  • Vidya Patel (Guest Artist, Richard Alston Dance Company)

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern):

  • Winner: Ching-Ying Chien (Until The Lions, Akram Khan Company)
  • Marivi Da Silva (Young Man, Denada Dance Theatre)
  • Christine Joy Ritter (Until The Lions, Akram Khan Company)
  • Hannah Kidd (The Odyssey,  Mark Bruce Company)
  • Vidya Patel (An Italian In Madrid, Richard Alston Dance Company)

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern):

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical):

  • Francesca Hayward (Rhapsody, The Royal Ballet)
  • Ekaterina Krysanova (Taming Of The Shrew, Bolshoi Ballet)
  • Martha Leebolt (1984, Northern Ballet)
  • Tamara Rojo (Broken Wings, English National Ballet)
  • Zenaida Yanowsky (Elizabeth, The Royal Ballet)

Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)  

  • Tobias Batley (1984, Northern Ballet)
  • Cesar Corrales (Le Corsaire, English National Ballet)
  • Chase Johnsey (Paquita, Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo)
  • Vladislav Lantratov (Taming Of The Shrew, Bolshoi Ballet)
  • Irek Mukhamedov (Broken Wings, English National Ballet)

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement:

Dame Beryl Grey

This article has 1 comment

  1. Jakegee responded on 6 February 2017 at 8:41pm Reply

    Delightful news! Heartiest congratulations to Francesca, Zenaida and Reece on well deserved Awards. So looking forward to seeing Zenaida and Reece again in "After the Rain" next month.

Comment on this article

Your email will not be published

Website URL is optional