Accessibility links


Sign In
  • Home
  • News
  • International Opera Awards 2015 finalists announced

International Opera Awards 2015 finalists announced

A host of Royal Opera-affiliated artists have been shortlisted.

By Lottie Butler (Former Assistant Content Producer (News and Social Media))

27 March 2015 at 4.21pm | Comment on this article

Former Jette Parker Young Artists and an array of Company-affiliated artists have been shortlisted as finalists for the International Opera Awards 2015. The awards, which are now in their third year, celebrate and promote excellence in opera by honouring the achievements of performers, producers and backstage teams. The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on 26 April 2015.

In the Female Singer category, nominees include Sonya Yoncheva, who returns to The Royal Opera this May as Violetta in Richard Eyre’s production of La traviataAnna Netrebko, also returning to The Royal Opera this May as Mimì in John Copley’s beloved production of La bohèmeand Joyce DiDonato, who is also nominated in the CD (Operatic Recital) category for her album Stella di Napoli.

David Butt Philip, who was a member of the Jette Parker Young Artist 2012–14, and Justina Gringyte, a Young Artist 2011–13, have been nominated in the Young Singer category, alongside Angel Blue, who recently performed at an ROH Insights Event. Conductor Tim Murray has been nominated in the Newcomer Category.

Designer Es Devlin, whose credits with The Royal Opera include Don Giovanni, Les Troyens and Salome, as well as the spectacular sets currently on stage for John Fulljames’s new production of Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny, is nominated in the Designer category. Other nominees in this category include Michael Levine (Der fliegende HolländerDialogues des Carmélites) and Paul Stein (Falstaff).

Shortlisted directors include Richard Jones (Anna Nicole, Gloriana), Christof Loy (Tristan und Isolde, Ariadne auf Naxos) and Robert Carsen, whose production of Falstaff returns this July. Robert also directed the award-winning Dialogues des Carmélites, staged by The Royal Opera in spring 2014.

Claus Guth’s production of Die Frau ohne Schatten, a co-production between The Royal Opera and La Scala, Milan, has been nominated in the Richard Strauss Anniversary category.

The Readers’ Award is the only category that will be decided by public vote. The nominees in this category are Piotr Beczała, Ferruccio Furlanetto, Susan Graham, Jonas Kaufmann, Aleksandra Kurzak, Mariusz Kwiecień, Karita Mattila and Nina Stemme.

The winners will be announced on 26 April 2015. View the full list of finalists.

Comment on this article

Your email will not be published

Website URL is optional