Arrow down iconArrow left iconArrow right iconArrow up iconAudio iconBasket iconClose iconDocument iconExclamation mark iconMenu iconPhoto iconQuotation markQuote iconTick iconUser icon

Recitals at Lunch: Monday 8 July 2019, 1pm at Crush Room

Recitals at Lunch

Experience an exciting programme of music in the opulent setting of the historic Royal Opera House Crush Room, and nearby St Clement Danes.


Crush Room

Royal Opera House, Bow Street, Covent Garden, London, WC2E 9DD


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Duo for Violin and Viola in G major no.1 K.423

Violin: Kaoru Yamada, Viola: Judith Busbridge

In the summer of 1783, Mozart retuned to Salzburg to introduce his new wife, Constanze, to his father for the first time. While in Salzburg, Mozart found the court music director, Michael Haydn ( the younger brother of Joseph Haydn), suffering from illness and unable to finish a commission work from the Archbishop Colloredo for six Duos for violin and viola. As a favour to his old friend, Mozart composed the missing two dips and gave them to Haydn to pass off as his own.

Sergei Prokofiev
Sonata for two violins in C major, op.56
Andante candabile
Commodo (quasi allegretto)
Allegro con brio

Violins: Ania Safonova, Kaoru Yamada

Prokofiev composed this piece in 1932, during a holiday near St. Tropez for the performance of the Paris chamber music group called Triton. In his 1941 autobiography, Prokofiev wrote about the origin of the work: “Listening to bad music sometimes inspires good ideas... After once hearing an unsuccessful piece [unspecified] for two violins without piano accompaniment, it struck me that in spite of the apparent limitations of such a duet one could make it interesting enough to listen to for ten or fifteen minutes... “ The four movements were characterised as being “lyrical, playful, fantastic and violent in turns” by Svyatoslav Prokofiev, the composer’s son.


You may only purchase up to six tickets for each recital


Suitable for ages 14+

Reserved seating

Running time

The recitals last about 45 minutes each; there is no break

Ticket holders are strongly advised to arrive before the start of each recital, as latecomers cannot be admitted