Royal Opera House brandmark

Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos DVD (Staatskapelle Dresden)

Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos DVD (Staatskapelle Dresden)

Philippe Arlaud's production features Renée Fleming and Sophie Koch and is conducted by Christian Thielemann.

- In stock


This production of Strauss's great drama about the competition between high and low art stars opera's three leading Strauss interpreters: Renée Fleming (in her role debut as Ariadne), Sophie Koch (Composer) and Christian Thielemann. They are supported by the  Staatskapelle Dresden - an orchestra that performed the world premieres of nine Strauss operas. 'Fleming's creamy high notes, dark bewitching mezzo hues and a full, warm mid-register reveal Ariadne's inner world'. (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung)


Composer: Richard Strauss
Ariadne/Primadonna: Renée Fleming
Ein Musiklehrer: Eike Wilm Schulte
Der Komponist: Sophie Koch
Bacchus/Der Tenor: Robert Dean Smith
Zerbinetta: Jane Archibald

Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden

Conductor: Christian Thielemann 2012
Stage DIrector & Set Designer: Philippe Arlaud

Picture: 16:9

Sound: LPCM stereo / DTS 5.1 Surround
Format: NTSC
Region code: 0 worldwide
Running Time: 136 mins
Subtitles: EN/FR/DE/SP/CH 


DVDs > Opera

Write a review

  • Your email will not be published
  • *Rating


Email to a friend

Related products

Strauss: Rosenkavalier DVD (Munich Philharmonic)

Strauss: Rosenkavalier DVD (Munich Philharmonic)

Herbert Wernicke's celebrated Salzburg Festival production restaged at the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden.
Strauss: Elektra DVD (Baden-Baden)

Strauss: Elektra DVD (Baden-Baden)

Herbert Wernicke's production featuring Linda Watson as Elektra with Christian Thielemann conducting the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra.
Strauss: Salome DVD (The Royal Opera) 2008

Strauss: Salome DVD (The Royal Opera) 2008

David McVicar’s powerful production of Strauss's opera is set in a disturbing and debauched world.