Royal Opera House brandmark

Gheorghiu, Angela - Puccini Arias CD

Gheorghiu, Angela - Puccini Arias CD

A great selection of Puccini opera arias including a number from La bohème, Madama Butterfly and Turandot.

- In stock


In this recording Angela Gheorghiu brings us some of Puccini’s best loved arias. A number of these are from La Bohème, including 'Sì. Mi chiamano Mimì' and 'Donde lieta usci', both sung by Mimì. It is this opera and role which marked both Angela’s graduation from the Bucharest Music Academy in 1990 and her international debut at the Royal Opera House, which shot her to stardom.

'Everything Gheorghiu achieves here is technally assured, thought though and emotionally rewarding. This is a deeply satisfying traversal of the Puccini canon.' Gramophone

1. Madama Butterfly - Un bel di, vedremo
2. Madama Butterfly - Tu, tu piccolo Iddio! *
3. Edgar - Addio, addio mio dolce amor! + 
4. Edgar - Nel villaggio d'Edgar (Edgar)
5. La rondine - Chi il bel sogno di Doretta
6. La bohème - Mi chiamano Mimì
7. La bohème - Quando m'en vo
8. La bohème - Donde lieta usci  
9. La fanciulla del West Laggiù nel Soledad  
10. Manon Lescaut - In quelle trine morbide 
11. Manon Lescaut - Sola, perduta, abbandonata  
12. Suor AngelicaSenza mamma 
13. Gianni Schicchi O mio babbino caro 
14. Le villi - Se come voi piccina io fossi  
15. Turandot - Signore, ascolta!  
16. Turandot - Tu che di gel sei cinta
17. Turandot - In questa Reggia *+
18. Tosca Vissi d'arte 

Angela Gheorghiu (soprano)
Roberto Alagna*

Royal Opera Chorus+
Orchestra Sinfonia di Milano Guiseppe Verdi

Conductor: Anton Coppola
(Vissi d'arte - Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Antonio Pappano)
Running Time: 73:35


CDs > Artist


Write a review

  • Your email will not be published
  • *Rating


Email to a friend

Related products

Gheorghiu, Angela - Autograph CD

Gheorghiu, Angela - Autograph CD

This eight-CD boxset features personally selected scenes, arias and songs from Gheorghiu’s 25-year career, along with a DVD of performance extracts
Puccini: Madama Butterfly CD (Antonio Pappano)

Puccini: Madama Butterfly CD (Antonio Pappano)

Angela Gheorghiu and Jonas Kaufmann sing the lead roles in Puccini's masterpiece conducted by Antonio Pappano.
Puccini: La rondine CD (Antonio Pappano)

Puccini: La rondine CD (Antonio Pappano)

Prize-winning recording featuring Angela Gheorghiu and Roberto Alagna with the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Antonio Pappano.