Accessibility links


Sign In

Due to the ongoing effects of closure at the Royal Opera House, information about artists is only updated periodically during this time. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Stuart Skelton



Australian tenor Stuart Skelton makes his Royal Opera debut in the 2018/19 Season as Siegmund (Die Walküre).

Skelton was born in Sydney. He won the McDonalds Aria Competition, which led him to study singing at the University of Cincinnati and on the Merola Opera Program at San Francisco Opera. He now appears for the major opera companies worldwide, including the Metropolitan Opera, New York, Seattle Opera, La Scala, Milan, Paris Opéra, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Bavarian State Opera and at the Baden-Baden Festpielhaus. He is especially renowned for his interpretation of dramatic and Heldentenor roles, including Florestan (Fidelio), Lohengrin, Siegmund, Tristan (Tristan und Isolde), Parsifal, Gherman (The Queen of Spades), Laca Klemen (Jenufa), Boris Grigorjevic (Kát’a Kabanová) and Peter Grimes.

Skelton is also an eminent concert artist, and has sung with the Symphony Orchestras of Sydney, Melbourne, Western Australia and Tasmania, the BBC Wales, Scotland, BBC Symphony and BBC Philharmonic orchestras, the Hamburg, Frankfurt and Munich Radio Symphony orchestras, the Boston, Chicago and San Francisco Symphony orchestras, the London Symphony Orchestra, the London Philaharmonic Orchestra, the Berlin Philharmonic, the MET Orchestra and the Cleveland Orchestra, among others. His concert repertory includes Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis and Symphony no.9, Mahler’s Das klagende Lied and Das Lied von der Erde, Elgar’s The Dream of Gerontius, Janácek’s Glagolitic Mass, Kodály’s Psalmus Hungaricu and Schoenberg’s Gurre-Lieder. He has worked with conductors including Ashkenazy, Barenboim, Andrew Davis, Dohnányi, Eschenbach, Fisch, Adám Fischer, Gardner, Jansons, Jordan, Jurowski, Levine, Luisi, Pappano, Rattle, Runnicles, Salonen, Young and Van Zweden. He was the 2014 International Opera Awards Male Singer of the Year.