Accessibility links


Sign In
  • Home
  • News
  • National Dance Award winners announced

National Dance Award winners announced

Winners include Gary Avis and Steven McRae.

By Chris Shipman (Head of Brand Engagement and Social Media)

23 January 2012 at 3.26pm | 1 Comment

The winners of this year's National Dance Awards were announced today at a ceremony at The Place in London.

Among the winners was Steven McRae who won the Dancing Times Best Male Dancer Award. Steven was nominated alongside Jon Goddard (Rambert Dance Company), Sergei Polunin (The Royal Ballet) and Edward Watson (The Royal Ballet). The Australian dancer's upcoming performances include Romeo and Juliet, The Dream/Song of the Earth and La Fille mal gardée.

Gary Avis took the award for Outstanding Performance (Classical). Yonah Acosta (English National Ballet), Tobias Batley (Northern Ballet) and Esteban Berlanga (English National Ballet) were also nominated. Gary was recently awarded an honorary doctorate from University Campus Suffolk.

Other Royal Ballet artists nominated included Lauren Cuthbertson, Tamara Rojo and Marianela Núñez (Best Female Dancer); Akane Takada and Melissa Hamilton.

Choreographer Kim Brandstrup was also nominated for his piece, Invitus Invitam which he created for The Royal Ballet in October 2010.

By Chris Shipman (Head of Brand Engagement and Social Media)

23 January 2012 at 3.26pm

This article has been categorised Awards, Ballet, Dance and tagged Ballet, Gary Avis, Steven McRae

This article has 1 comment

  1. Zanka Dobias responded on 23 January 2012 at 4:11pm Reply

    I admire all the people with talent for dance and I've adored all the performances in Royal Opera House and I think the awards all well deserved.
    Thank you

Comment on this article

Your email will not be published

Website URL is optional