Accessibility links


Sign In
  • Home
  • News
  • National Dance Award nominees announced

National Dance Award nominees announced

A host of Royal Ballet artists nominated.

By Chris Shipman (Head of Online Content)

4 November 2011 at 4.15pm | Comment on this article

The Critics' Circle Dance Section has announced its nominations for this year's National Dance Awards with a slew of the company's top talent nominated.

In the Best Male Dancer category, Steven McRae, Sergei Polunin and Edward Watson are all nominated. Lauren Cuthbertson, Tamara Rojo and Marianela Núñez are up for the Best Female Dancer award.

Gary Avis - recently presented with an honorary doctorate from University Campus Suffolk - has been nominated for Outstanding Male Performance in the Classical category while Akane Takada and Melissa Hamilton have both been nominated for Outstanding Female Performance in the same style.

Choreographer Kim Brandstrup has been nominated for his work on The Royal Ballet's Invitus Invitam.

Winners of the 12th annual awards will be announced on Monday 23 January 2012 at a ceremony at The Place, London.

View the full list of nominations

Let us know who you'd like to win this year.

By Chris Shipman (Head of Online Content)

4 November 2011 at 4.15pm

This article has been categorised Awards, Ballet and tagged Ballet, Critics, Dance

Comment on this article

Your email will not be published

Website URL is optional