Accessibility links

|

Sign In
Basket
Basket
  • Home
  • News
  • BBC Radio 3 to broadcast Wagner's Ring Cycle

BBC Radio 3 to broadcast Wagner's Ring Cycle

Royal Opera Season opener to be broadcast in October and over Christmas period.

By Lottie Butler (Assistant Content Producer)

21 September 2012 at 4.39pm | 2 Comments

Richard Wagner’s epic Ring Cycle is to be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 in October, and repeated in full over the Christmas period.

Keith Warner’s monumental production of the four-opera cycle returns to Covent Garden, opening The Royal Opera's 2012/13 season. Conducted by Music Director of The Royal Opera, Antonio Pappano, the production features a star-studded international cast including Welsh bass-baritone Bryn Terfel, who was recently an Olympic Torchbearer; Eva-Maria Westbroek, who sang the role of Didon in Les Troyens last season, and Royal Opera favourite John Tomlinson.

Other operas to be broadcast over the season include Verdi’s Otello, Donizetti's L'elisir d’amore, and Meyerbeer’s Robert le diable.

Broadcasts of The Ring
(Please note times are subject to change)

  • Das Rheingold (full) - Tuesday 16 Oct, 7pm
  • Die Walküre (full) - Thursday 18 Oct, 4.45pm
  • Siegfried (full) - Sunday 21 Oct, 2.45pm
  • Götterdämmerung (full) - Wednesday 24 Oct, 3.45pm
  • Das Rheingold (full) - Monday 24 December, 4.30pm
  • Die Walküre Act I - Tuesday 25 December, 4.30pm
  • Die Walküre Act II - Wednesday 26 December, 4.30pm
  • Die Walküre Act III - Thursday 27 December, 4.30pm
  • Siegfried Act I - Friday 28 December, 4.30pm
  • Siegfried Act II - Monday 31 December, 4.30pm
  • Siegfried Act III - Tuesday 1 January 2013, 4.30pm
  • Götterdämmerung Act I - Wednesday 2 January, 4.30pm
  • Götterdämmerung Act II - Thursday 3 January, 4.30pm
  • Götterdämmerung Act III - Friday 4 January, 4.30pm

Other works to be broadcast:

  • Otello - Saturday 20 October, 6pm
  • L’elisir d’amore - Saturday 1 December, 7.15pm
  • Robert le diable - Saturday 15 December, 5.45pm

The Royal Opera House and BBC work together in a strategic partnership that involves greater creative collaboration between the two organizations and builds on a long-standing relationship across both television and radio.

By Lottie Butler (Assistant Content Producer)

21 September 2012 at 4.39pm

This article has been categorised Opera and tagged BBC, BBC Radio 3, Radio 3

This article has 2 comments

  1. Mark Pullinger responded on 21 September 2012 at 9:39pm Reply

    Excellent news for those of us who cannot obtain tickets for the Ring Cycle. Also good to have the outstanding Otello from last season broadcast, presumably with Anja Harteros and Aleksandrs Antonenko both on superb form.

  2. Thanks for this, you know what us Ring Worshippers are like...

Comment on this article

Your email will not be published

Website URL is optional