ROH Fanfare 2018

    Calling young composers!

    Fanfare is a creative composition opportunity for students aged between 11 and 18.

    Follow a series of challenges to devise your own fanfare, listen to some extraordinary repertoire from the forthcoming season and learn to write for an ensemble of professional musicians.

    Winning entrants will be invited to the Royal Opera House to workshop their compositions with composer/educator Steven Berryman and musicians from the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House. They will return a few weeks later with their refined works to hear their music come to life played by the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House under the direction of Music Director and conductor Sir Antonio Pappano.

    The winning fanfares will be recorded and used to call our audiences into the performances every night of the following season.

    We encourage you to study the short excerpts of musical ideas provided and come up with an original, creative piece which would be suitable as an attention-grabbing fanfare.

    You can see the impact of the Fanfare competition for our winners in this BBC feature about Jack Pepper and listen to past Fanfares below.

    Entries for Fanfare 2018 open on Wednesday 3 January 2018 and close on Thursday 18 January. If you have any questions about the competition please contact us at

  • ROH Fanfare Resources

    10 mins

    Insights, challenges and activities to help you create your own fanfare.

  • ROH Fanfare Motif Bank

    10 mins

    A motif in a piece of music is a dominant or repeating idea. It is an important musical gesture which a composer uses as a building block. A motif is usually an idea that lends itself to experimentation and change, and has clearly defined features that a composer will manipulate to develop their musical ideas.

  • ROH Fanfare - Useful Information

    10 mins

    In this unit, you'll find useful guidelines on how to structure your composition.

  • Listen to Past Winning Fanfares

    20 mins

    Listen to a selection of our past winning entries to get inspiration for your own fanfare. Listen for how they used the motif bank to inspire their fanfares.

  • Run Your Own Fanfare Competition

    60 mins

    This unit will give you the tools to run your own Fanfare competition for young composers.

  • How to Enter the Fanfare Competition

    Key dates:

    3 January 2018         Entries open

    18 January 2018       Entries close

    9 February 2018       Winners announced

    3 March 2018             Orchestration workshops at the Royal Opera House, London

    11 April 2018              Recording of winning fanfares at the Royal Opera House, London


    How to submit your entry

    Applicants will be required to submit the following:

    • A completed Fanfare application form
    • A score of your fanfare
    • An MP3 file of your fanfare

    Guidance on how to submit your entry will be available when applications open in January.

    Terms and conditions

    Please read our terms and conditions (below) carefully before you start your fanfare composition project.