Accessibility links


Sign In


In 1956 Queen Elizabeth II granted the then Sadler’s Wells Ballet, Sadler’s Wells Theatre Ballet and Sadler’s Wells School a Royal Charter, and they became respectively The Royal Ballet and Royal Ballet School. Under the Charter a body of Governors was set up whose ultimate duty it is to safeguard the future of the Company (now The Royal Ballet and Birmingham Royal Ballet) and School and to be the custodians of the traditions established by Dame Ninette de Valois in the formation of the Company and School in 1931.


Dame Jenny Abramsky DBE


Professor Michael Clarke CBE DL
Ricki Gail Conway
The Marchioness of Douro OBE
Dame Vivien Duffield DBE
Stephen Hough
Desmond Kelly OBE
Thomas Lynch
Gail Monahan
Christopher Nourse
Marguerite Porter
Simon Robey
Dame Sue Street DCB
Monica Zamora

Honorary Secretary

Peter Wilson