Accessibility links


Sign In

Meet the Jette Parker Young Artists

‘Young' Artist is in a way a misnomer. They may be at the start of their careers, but they are neither fresh out of school nor inexperienced. All have worked with professional companies and have completed a college degree. They could easily make their way in a career outside of the Programme, but have come to the Royal Opera House in order to refine their skills over a period of up to two years. The Programme normally includes ten singers, a conductor, a répétiteur and a stage director, although the configuration may be different during some seasons.

The Jette Parker Young Artists Programme is run by Artistic Director David Gowland and Administrator Siri Fischer Hansen, with Assistant Mathilda du Tillieul McNicol.

The Jette Parker Young Artists for the 2016/17 season are:


Thomas Atkins – tenor
Vlada Borovko – soprano
Francesca Chiejina – soprano
Jennifer Davis – soprano
Emily Edmonds – mezzo-soprano
David Junghoon Kim – tenor
Gyula Nagy – baritone
Simon Shibambu – bass
David Shipley – bass
Angela Simkin – mezzo-soprano

Music Staff

Nick Fletcher – Associate opera répétiteur
James Hendry – Opera conductor/répétiteur
Matthew Scott Rogers – Ballet conductor

Stage Director
Gerard Jones 

Find out more in our News and Features section.

The artists joining the Programme from the 2017/18 season are:

Haegee Lee – soprano
Jacquelyn Stucker - soprano
Aigul Akhmetshina – mezzo-soprano
Konu Kim - tenor
Dominic Sedgwick - baritone
Noa Naamat – stage director